>Postcards – past their ‘use by’ date?

>

Has modern technology overtaken ‘snail mail’ to the extent that the latter is no longer useful for short trips? My latest experience suggests the answer is yes…definitely yes.

I sent a dozen or so postcards to friends in Australia from Germany one week into my recent overseas trip with two weeks still to go before my return home. I also sent most of these friends an email or two when the internet service allowed.

Not one of my postcards beat me home. Perversely, all of the postcards I sent to friends at the hospital were amongst the mail I collected from the Hospital’s mail room as part of my volunteer’s role on my first day back at work and I delivered them by hand to the addressees. I might as well have carried the cards home myself and saved on the stamps!  Just as perversely, the card I sent to the Nursing Home arrived the next day, a few hours after my return to work there.

All of my emails to the same recipients arrived without delay and were welcomed, even the one liners, as evidence that I was alive and well and having fun. Frankly my impression is the emails were welcomed more than the postcards.

Tempis Fugit (even if the postcards do not).

About Victor

A gay man, senior citizen, retired, doing volunteer work.
This entry was posted in modern times, technology, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Postcards – past their ‘use by’ date?

  1. Andrew says:

    >This has happened to us too. I am not sure where the problem is, as it happens when sending from third world and first world countries. We haven't received your post card yet.

  2. Victor says:

    >Andrew – yours will be hand delivered.

Leave a comment